The International Radiation Symposia are one of the regular activities of the International Radiation Physics Society (IRPS) founded in Ferrara (Italy) in 1985.

The ISRP-16 (September 1-5, 2024), 16th in the series of International Symposia on Radiation Physics, is being organized by the Laboratory for Instrumentation, Biomedical Engineering and Radiation Physics (LIBPhys) in Lisbon by NOVA SCHOOL of Science and Technology, the Faculty of Sciences and Technology-University of Coimbra, the Dentistry Faculty of the University of Lisbon and also the International Radiation Physics Society (IRPS). The meeting will be held at Dentistry Faculty of the University of Lisbon at the University City in the heart of Lisbon.

ISRP is devoted to current trends and potential future issues involving radiation in various applications. The meeting sessions will include invited lectures by leading experts in their fields, contributed oral papers and poster presentations of contributed papers. Attendees will have an opportunity to share ideas on the underpinning interactions, the uses of radiation in research and applications in a great many fields such as biomedical applications of radiation, art and cultural heritage, Monte Carlo methods and models, radiation in environmental sciences, detection of threat material and contraband, radiation protection, shielding and dosimetry, radiation effects on materials, radiation detection and measurements, and other related topics. In respect of participation in ISRP-16, the Organizing Committee strongly encourages the participation of young colleagues, postdocs, PhD students, other post-graduates and also undergraduate students.

Past International Symposia on Radiation Physics

These have been
held triennially since 1982, recorded in NIM and since 1994 in Radiation Physics and Chemistry
  • Penang ISRP-2, 1982
  • Ferrara ISRP-3, 1985

  • Sao Paulo ISRP-4, 1988

  • Dubrovnik ISRP-5, 1991

  • Rabat 1SRP-6, 1994

  • Jaipur ISRP-7, 1997

  • Prague ISRP-8, 2000

  • Cape Town ISRP-9, 2003

  • Coimbra ISRP-10, 2006

  • Melbourne ISRP-11, 2009

  • Rio de Janeiro ISRP-12, 2012

  • Beijing ISRP-13, 2015

  • Cordoba ISRP-14, 2018

  • Kuala Lumpur ISRP-15, 2021